Join The
Get The

Building America's Future Statement on Passage of the Surface Transportation Reauthorization Act

Washington, D.C. – May 26, 2021 – Today, the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee unanimously approved its Surface Transportation Reauthorization Act (STRA).  The bipartisan-crafted bill will provide $304 billion over five years for the nation’s highways and bridge programs.  Several other Senate committees must still act to write and approve their titles of the transportation bill that will provide funding for important transit, rail and safety programs. It is still unclear if the transportation reauthorization legislation will move through Congress as a stand-alone bill or be incorporated into a larger infrastructure package.  

In response to the Committee’s action, Building America’s Future Co-Chairs former Pennsylvania Governor Ed Rendell and former U.S. Secretary of Transportation Ray LaHood issued the following statements

“Today’s action by the Committee is a positive step forward to getting a well-funded transportation bill enacted before the FAST Act expires in September.  I am pleased to see that the bill includes provisions to further streamline the project delivery process, address resiliency, and expand electric vehicle charging infrastructure.  Congress must act without delay to enact transportation infrastructure legislation that will assist in boosting America’s economic recovery,” said Governor Rendell.

“It is refreshing to see Republicans and Democrats find common ground to draft and approve this important transportation legislation.  I encourage the other Senate committees of jurisdiction to follow the bipartisan lead of the Environment and Public Works Committee in drafting their titles of the transportation bill as quickly as possible.  With the September 30th expiration of the FAST Act looming, it is clear that Congress must act swiftly on reauthorizing this crucial transportation infrastructure legislation,” said Secretary LaHood.

For more information, please visit and follow us on Twitter (